Commentary #4 – Write Right 2 Episode One reviews

The Word
Warning – this post will be biased!!

John Varane
No, it won’t. Stop that, Word, that’s not what we want. We wanna go through the episodes – or at least, some of them – as professionals. Make some comments, and that would be all.

The Word
Ok, it won’t be biased. First off, Akinwale Agbaje. Our boy. We’ve been campaigning for him. He seems to be doing well.

John Varane
Well, he was, until Opeoluwa suddenly came up from like 13 to 65, and counting. Probably should be above 70 when I wake up tomorrow!

The Word
In Nigeria, we call that PDP.

John Varane
I don’t believe you. What’s a PDP?

The Word
Forget it. But, for real though, we’ll talk about the votes later. Let’s talk about the episodes. From an unbiased point of view, which episode do you consider to be the best?

John Varane
Tell you the truth, it’s hard to be unbiased. But, honestly, I … can’t seem to pick between Akin’sThese, The Last Days of Our Lives” and Ifeoluwa’sWewe”. Is Ifeoluwa a girl or a boy? Your Nigerian names confuse me.

The Word
Erm … I think, girl. I might be wrong.

John Varane
Let’s assume, girl.

The Word
But if it’s a boy he might be super pissed we called him a girl.

John Varane
Ok, then let’s assume a boy.

The Word
Nah, I like girl. Cos, man, I’ve got a crush on her and her writing, dude.

John Varane
You know how weird that would be if “she” turned out to be a “he”, right?

The Word
[laughs]
Ok, moving on. Ifeoluwa and Akin. Top stuff from both writers.

John Varane
Let me just say, I really respect what Tunde Leye has done this time around with Write Right 2, because, I mean, I went through Write Right 1 and I actually thought, that’s a popularity contest, you know?

The Word
Whoever gets the most people to vote for them wins. Not necessarily whoever writes the best.

John Varane
And that’s not really the case here, with Write Right 2. Because, sure, having the most votes is awesome, but in the end, it’s the judges votes that matter the most. And the judges are not messing around. Have you seen their credentials?

The Word
They’re hard core. There’s this one guy, with the beard, I can’t remember his name. I read his blog. Dude is hard core, which is good, and I’ve got a lot of faith in them. You think Akin has the edge on this one?

John Varane
We’ve known Akin for a while. We know what he’s capable of, and we’ve been campaigning for him. But, you know, if I were a judge, and I had to pick, I might be swayed towards Ifeoluwa’sWewe”. SHE writes from the perspective of a mad woman, and she handles it with the dexterity of someone who’s been in the game for a long, long time. It’s really solid writing. Akin is solid too, his choice of story – whatever that is – doesn’t really allow him to flex his literary muscles the way Ifeoluwa does, and I know he can do what she does.

The Word
I think in the end it’s gonna be between those two. I mean, Opeoluwa has the most votes, but honestly, this dude has a thing for being a little too over-dramatic. It sort of fucks up the believability of the story.

John Varane
Dude?

The Word
Let’s just roll with that.

John Varane
In Ope’s story, the wedding is interrupted by the groom’s ex and his stalker, both armed with guns –

The Word
– and Ope’s entry story – the alternate ending to Broken Mirrors – had all sorts of people popping in and accusing that fulani dude of being this person’s husband and that person’s husband and this and that, and finally, he turned out to be the illegitimate son of the doctor who died. It’s just … I don’t know. Over the top?

John Varane
Some people like over the top. Over the top is good. Sometimes. But you know, too much salt in the pot can mess up the food.

The Word
So, basically, you’re saying Akin has to focus on beating Ifeoluwa. That’s what I think, by the way.

John Varane
She – and I do apologise if you’re a guy, Ifeoluwa. She obviously comes out guns blazing. Her literary voice is sound, her word play is on point, and the story draws you in.

The Word
But Akin did good though. We gotta give him credit for that. There’s something mysterious and melancholic about his story. Tunde dies! Oh my, God! What the fuck was that? Why did he kill himself?

John Varane
Yeah, I’d like to know that too. I can’t wait for episode 2. I can’t wait to see what Akin and Ifeoluwa pull out of their hats next Tuesday, man.

The Word
Akin is creative – we know that. We’ve all been working together on the Finding Hubby adapted screenplay together and you’ve seen firsthand what he’s capable of. I think that’s his greatest strength against Ifeoluwa. She’s a creative writer – that much is evident – but she doesn’t come across as a creative story-teller, and I think maybe that could help Akin out with the judges’ votes.

John Varane
So, you’re certain it’s between those two. I mean, what if the judges go with Opeoluwa.

The Word
Well … yeah, that is possible. They could go that way. Everything’s possible. I mean, what if Ifeoluwa comes out with something beyond mind-blowing in terms of plot? This is just the first episode. Anything can happen. Personally, taking into consideration writing skill, delivery, and creativity, I’ll stick with Akin and Ifeoluwa. I think those two are the stars of the show.

John Varane
Cheers. To those reading, don’t forget to participate Write Right 2. The writers all have awesome stories to tell and it’s fun reading them. Man, I have to say, Tunde Leye is a genius. Really, I’m having so much fun with this. This doing a lot for writing in Nigeria and it’s just beautiful, man.

The Word
Until next week … or at least, when something cool happens. Later!

One thought on “Commentary #4 – Write Right 2 Episode One reviews

Leave a Reply

